• 09 Apr - 15 Apr, 2022
  • Mag The Weekly
  • Awards

This year's Oscars have been handed out in Los Angeles, honouring the movie industry's finest from the past 12 months. The plan was to make this year’s Oscars more fun, effervescent and punchy – and they managed one of those things, albeit, only thanks to Will Smith’s right hand. The Oscars 2022 winners resulted in some major snubs, surprises, and shocks, with the Academy Awards themselves overshadowed by Will Smith's altercation with Chris Rock. Hosted by Regina Hall, Amy Schumer, and Wanda Sykes, the ceremony was billed as an opportunity to properly reflect upon and honour cinema amidst the coronavirus pandemic, following a year that continued to be challenging for the industry but did see movie theatres reach something of a new normal. Still, it was a streaming service that led the way, with The Power of the Dog’s 12 nominations placing it at the front of the pack heading into the 94th Academy Awards. There were redeeming features for anyone prepared to wade through the Academy’s publicly televised identity crisis for three hours: three warm-and-fuzzy Oscar wins for Coda, the year’s feel-good film; Dune quietly winning several Academy Awards; a stellar Billie Eilish performance; some excellent speeches; a brief but memorable The Godfather reunion featuring Francis Ford Coppola, Al Pacino and Robert De Niro; and a rather nice nightclub-style table set-up in the front rows. Below is the list of winners, who made it big at the 2022 Oscars:


Best picture
Winner: Coda

Best actress
Winner: Jessica Chastain – The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Best actor
Winner: Will Smith – King Richard

Best supporting actress
Winner: Ariana DeBose – West Side Story

Best supporting actor
Winner: Troy Kotsur – Coda

Best director
Winner: Jane Campion – The Power of the Dog

Best original screenplay
Winner: Belfast – Sir Kenneth Branagh

Best adapted screenplay
Winner: Coda – Sian Heder

Best animated feature
Winner: Encanto

Best documentary feature
Winner: Summer of Soul

Best international feature
Winner: Drive My Car (Japan)

Best original song
Winner: No Time to Die – No Time to Die (Billie Eilish and Finneas O'Connell)

Best original score
Winner: Dune – Hans Zimmer

Best cinematography
Winner: Dune – Greig Fraser

Best visual effects
Winner: Dune – Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor, Gerd Nefzer

Best film editing
Winner: Dune – Joe Walker

Best costume design
Winner: Cruella – Jenny Beavan

Best sound
Winner: Dune – Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett

Best production design
Winner: Dune – Patrice Vermette and Zsuzsanna Sipos

Best make–up and hairstyling
Winner: The Eyes of Tammy Faye – Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh

Best live action short
Winner: The Long Goodbye

Best animated short
Winner: The Windshield Wiper

Best documentary short
Winner: The Queen of Basketball