International Indian Film Academy Awards 2018

  • 07 Jul - 13 Jul, 2018
  • Mag The Weekly
  • Awards

The 19th edition of the International Indian Film Academy Awards (IIFA) unrolled its green carpet last week for the who’s who of Bollywood. After getting a taste of New Jersey in 2017, this year the three-day, star-studded extravaganza was staged in Bangkok, Thailand. However, despite being the most sought-after awards ceremony in the Indian film industry, the 19th IIFA lacked its usual starry glister this year subjugated to the gapping absence of the Khans, Bachans and Kapoors of Bollywood. Yes, Shah Rukh Khan, Saif Ali Khan, Shahid Kapoor, Deepika Padukone, Ranveer Singh, Kareena Kapoor, Katrina Kaif were some names that gave the event a miss. But this time, young blood was in abundance, with the likes of Varun Dhawan, Sharaddha Kapoor, Ranbir Kapoor, Arjun Kapoor, Kartik Aaryan, and more dressed to the nines for the event. Amongst the key highlight of the events were when the veteran actress Rekha took to the stage in a spectacular dance performance which was lovely and nostalgic, giving viewers a trip down the golden age of cinema and Sridevi posthumously winning the Best Actor IIFA for her role in the film Mom, received by her husband Boney Kapoor.


Best Film: Tumhari Sulu

Best Actor in a leading role (Female): Sridevi (MOM)

Best Actor in a leading role (Male): Irrfan Khan (Hindi Medium)

Best Actor In Supporting Role (Female): Meher Vij (Secret Superstar)

Best Actor In Supporting Role (Male): Nawazzuddin Siddiqui (MOM)

Best Director: Saket Chaudhary (Hindi Medium)

Best Debut Director: Konkona Sen Sharma (A Death in the Gunj)

Outstanding Achievement by an Actor in Indian Cinema: Anupam Kher

Best Story: Amit V Masurkar (Newton)

Best Music Direction: Amaal Mallik, Tanishk Bagchi, Akhil Sachdeva (Badrinath Ki Dulhania)

Best Background Score: Pritam (Jagga Jasoos)

Best Screeenplay: Nitesh Tiwari, Shreyas Jain (Bareilly Ki Barfi)

Best Playback Singer Female: Meghna Mishra (Main Kaun Hoon – Secret Superstar)

Best Playback singer Male: Arijit Singh (Hawayein – Jab Harry Met Sejal)

Best Lyrics: Nusrat Fateh Ali, A1 Melody Fana & Manoj Muntashir (Mere Rashke Qamar – Baadshaho)

Best Choreography: Vijay Ganguly and Ruel Dausan Varindani (Ghalti Se Mistake – Jagga Jasoos)

Best Style Icon of the Year: Kriti Sanon